Recommendations for Sweeteners

lisad1180
on 4/7/16 5:31 pm
DS on 12/04/15

Hey everyone-

A friend turned me on to amaranth- a high protein natural super-food grain.  She mixes popped amaranth with cocoa powder and some agave syrup to make really delicious protein bars.  I am concerned, though, with using agave syrup.  Has anyone tried this and had problems?  Would honey be a better alternative?  Is there a product that is syrup like without all the sugar?

Also, an update:

Surgery 5 months ago.  74 pounds down.  My GP did my first round of post-surgical blood work to check my cholesterol, and I am no longer pre-diabetic, pre-hypertensive, and my "shockingly" high cholesterol is now totally normal.  I have also been told that I no longer have sleep apnea either!  The down side is that I have hypothyroidism that is not related to surgery (my GP and I have been monitoring it for about 2 years and it is finally slow enough for medication). I have 45 pounds to go to my goal, and I am losing between 1-3 pounds a week (although some weeks I lose more and some weeks I don't lose any). So yea, things are going really well!

Thanks for any and all tips about the syrup!

MajorMom
on 4/8/16 2:13 am - VA

I guess I never got too concerned about sweeteners. I've used agave but mostly I use either Splenda or Truvia. When I use too much Truvia it does upset my stomach, but Splenda works better than Equal. I would just keep an eye on the carbs with whatever sugar or sweetener you decide to use.

Congratulations on your weight loss and comorbidities success. You're doinggreat! 

--gina

5'1" -- HW 195/SW 187/GW 115 July 08/CW 121 Dec 2012
                                 ******GOAL*******

Starting BMI between 35 and 40ish? 
Join us on the
Lightweights Board!
DS on Aug 9, 2007 with Dr. Hazem Elariny

PattyL
on 4/8/16 2:07 pm

Carbs is carbs and sugar is sugar.  Agave is sugar and amaranth is a grain.  If you stop losing this would be the first suspect.