Revision- sleeve to DS?

LizzyM
on 1/22/18 12:24 pm

i tried the revision board but can't seem to find any info. Has anyone gone from sleeve to full DS years after original surgery? I've had a 50 lb regain after losing 136 with just a sleeve. Thanks for any info, I appreciate it!

Liz

7 lbs. lost preop included in total
larra
on 1/22/18 1:53 pm - bay area, CA

I can't speak from personal experience, but we see new people wanting to revise from VSG to DS all the time. Many people with sleeves experience significant weight regain after the restriction lessens, since that's all you have to help you.

You might - or might not- also need a re-sleeve, depending on how your sleeve is holding up, but that's something to discuss with your surgeon.

Larra

PeteA
on 1/23/18 7:43 am - Parma, OH
DS on 04/15/13

I have no actual experience for you but it is the logical extension from the VSG. It always struck me as a little strange that it is a revision as opposed to an upgrade or a refinement since the VSG is an integral part of the full DS. I hope it works out for you.

Pete

HW 552 CW 198 SW 464 4/15/13 - Lap DS by Dr. Philip Schauer - Cleveland Clinic.

Janet P.
on 1/23/18 9:09 am

Technically it's not a revision. It's simply the second part of the DS. Anyone with a DS has the sleeve, you're just adding the switch part. There should be a number of folks who have done this.

Hopefully you'll get some responses on the DS forum. Check the "General Discussion" forum as well.

I actually have a friend who is currently researching the same thing (we had our surgeries around the same time - I had the DS and she had the sleeve).

Janet in Leesburg
DS 2/25/03
Hazem Elariny

jndrake
on 1/28/18 6:15 pm - Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
VSG on 12/10/13