Educate me about Iron

MAG
on 5/22/07 1:52 am - Florence, KY

Hi All!  My ferritin levels are low.  This is not new for me as I have chronic kidney disease and mostlystopped eating red meat in 2005 after my  bout with colon cancer.  ( I have red meat maybe once a month or 6 weeks...)

Anyway, I have been taking an iron supplement.  The type varies.  I was taking the ferrous sulfate for a while.  For the past 3 or 4 months I was taking iron glycinate.   I have been taking iron ferranyl for a couple of days since I found out my levels are low. (Seems like the iron glycinate is doing nothing or my levels wouldn't be that low.  )  I am not a nutrition expert so I was wondering if anyone knew the differences between the irons and if there is a certain type that with better bioavailability?    Taryn said to just bring in whatever I am taking on Friday, so she will be going over that stuff with me.  I just wanted to get some education about the different types; I don't know if I am just not taking enough or the wrong kind.  I hate to be taking this stuff and it do nothing.  (Or is it just different for everyone and you just have to find the one that works for you personally?) Any thoughts or experiences appreciated! Melanie g.

Mr Buddha
on 5/22/07 2:43 am - florence, KY
Mel... this is a big problem for a lot of us. Unfortunately I went in to this with the gun all ready pointed at my head. It really depends on the person as to how they respond to the iron. The one that usually works the best is one that is given under a dr's care, whether it be the IV or a prescription pill. give me a minute to find a great post from DX and I wil post again with more info.
Mr Buddha
on 5/22/07 2:49 am - florence, KY
 ok I found the post ... here you go.remember this was written with guys in mind but a lot of the info about the supps would still apply. Iron- (a repost from  past...ignore if you've seen it.)