Most Active

Stomach fold skin irritation and odor ~ blech

SueN1021
on 5/10/10 7:41 pm - Villa Park, IL
Lap Band on 11/30/09 with
I have a large tummy fold (panniculus sp?) and after losing 45 lbs., I am having skin irritations and odor that I didn't notice before surgery.  I don't have any sores, just itching and body odor. 

What can I do?  I have used baby powder to try to help with the itching, but I don't think it is working well.  I shower everyday, so it's not a cleanliness issue.  Can I use deodorant?  lol

Sue
  5cc's in 10cc band

(deactivated member)
on 5/10/10 7:51 pm - Moreno Valley, CA
When I get a rash there, I use diaper ointment.  It keeps moisture out and keeps the area dry.

I'm sure there are better solutions and I'm looking forward to some too.

Terry
anonymouslyobese
on 5/10/10 7:53 pm
Lap Band on 04/07/10 with
I can't really "diagnose" you since I'm not a doctor.  But...

In the past I have gotten red, odor and itching and sometimes a little skin peeling comes with it.  For me, it's a yeast infection.   I put athlete's foot creme (per my doctor) everyday until it's gone and then if it comes back.  For me it's because the area isn't getting enough dry time.  I have prevented it in areas of my body by using deodorant there, but that is not a recommendation from my doc, so I don't know if that can cause problems (though I had none), so I'd say yes to prevent (but it doesn't get rid of it for me), but again you might want to check with your doctor!  Unless it is brand new or preventative the powder doesn't work for me.  

That said, you may want to ask your doctor.  Good luck! 

Amz
on 5/10/10 8:02 pm - CA
Probably a moisture problem so if you have irritation use Desitin diaper rash cream.  Works great on the moisture problem and dries up any skin welts.

For daily moisture control I use Baby Powder with Corn Starch.  Works like a charm!!

Hope this helps.
Amz

HW 273/ PSW 253/ SW 250/ CW 211/ 1st GOAL 200/ 2nd GOAL 180

Cheryl N.