FeraMAX (iron)

Susan40
on 11/22/15 7:04 am - Canada

Hi Everyone,

Has anyone taken FeraMAX for iron?  Are you achieving good results?  I work in health care and I was told by one of our NP's (not a bariatric unit) to ask my Dr. to put me on FeraMAX for my iron levels instead of what I am using now.  I like the idea of only taking one pill instead of three a day.  However I can not find much info online about it working well for post gastric patients (absorption).  Thought I would ask the community here

Thanks

Susan

roxytrim
on 11/22/15 8:10 am - Cobourg, Canada
VSG on 04/12/13

This is what I took.  No absorbtion problerms as with cheaper iron supplements, no constipation, more effective.  Leona Dove who used to be active on OH has written articles & made presentations on iron issues.  Her handle was the Iron nurse, if I remember correctly (her profession).  Just google Leona Dove & iron you will get some detailed information. (She is a VSG'er so it makes her a double expert).

Leona did tell me any iron supplementation will take about 6wks to show results - but as with any of this stuff, consult with your healthcare peeps.

Hollynik
on 11/22/15 10:25 am - Canada

I take feramax 2 times a day with a chewable vitamin c since that helps with absorption.  I have hemoglobin issues and have had since before RNY.  I see a hemotologist and she likes that brand better then some of the others on the market.  I buy mine at Costco and they do have a generic form of it but I don't know what it's called.  The pharmacist told me about it but I but the name brand one.

birdiegirl
on 11/22/15 10:48 am

I know Leona is a big proponent of Feramax.   I took it for a year with poor resutls.  I am now on proferrin which is a heme iron.  My levels improved dramatically within 6 weeks.  Just don't wait as long as I did if feramax doesn't quickly improve your levels. 

Karen M.
on 11/22/15 2:48 pm - Mississauga, Canada