Today's my 2 year surgiversary

crqvingchange
on 7/17/16 5:13 pm

MonaLisaSmile and I share the same surgiversary.  

I am posting this mostly for newbies and those considering surgery.

Today I did a high intensity Zumba workout, and then I went to the music festival to listen to some great live music.  Two years ago none of that would have happened.  I used to park as close as possible to the door of where I was going, because walking hurt.  I lumbered, now I have a spring in my step and I walk faster and stronger.  Today I sat in a foldout camping chair.  I would not have done that pre-op because I would have been afraid of breaking the chair.  Now I don't like to sit for too long because I am full of energy and want to move.

Life is different. Life is better.  I am the lowest weight I have been in over 30 years, but having said that, I don't want the scale to determine my success.  For me, my success comes from the ease of movement, the feeling of strength, seeing my body adjust and seeing muscle definition, not being controlled by food.

I have new addictions like, exercise, clothes and definitely coffee.  Plain water hurts my pouch, so I always have water enhancer in my purse.  

The vets on OH warn that after 2 years post-op the real work begins, and I believe them.  Bounceback weight scares the hell out of me.  I track my food everyday on My Fitness Pal.  I try to make good food choices daily and for the most part I don't stray, but there have been the occasional weak moments.

Right now my medical support team are trying to figure out some WLS related complications, but I am hopeful that these are just minor bumps in the road.