please confirm pop question

amyred27
on 4/19/13 8:48 am

My mom had this surgery 30 years ago and they told her not to drink pop because it would dissolve the staples.

I was told I can drink diet pop if it is uncarbonated.

Can we drink uncarbonated diet pop?

Miamos
on 4/19/13 8:53 am - OH

Yes you can but is flat pop worth it i think not!  Yuck

poet_kelly
on 4/19/13 9:04 am - OH

Pop will not dissolve your staples, carbonated or not.

Yes, you can drink flat diet pop if you want to.  You can drink pop that is not flat if you want to.  It will not harm your staples or anything else.  It might give you painful gas or it might not.  Doesn't bother me at all.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

jackie M.
on 4/19/13 9:39 am - Sunbury, PA
RNY on 10/10/12

I am 6 months out from my RnY.  I have not had any soda/pop at all.  

I do not drink alcohol or smoke cigarettes either.  

I am not going to take any chances with my new life by having that stuff.  

HW 284.5, SW 247, GW 140       

gbsinsatx
on 4/19/13 12:26 pm - San Antonio, TX

I have been drinking fully carbonated diet soda since 20 months post-op. I have not had any issues. Other than this unhealthy habit (yes, I know all the diet soda horror stories), I eat a well balanced Lacto-Ovo Vegetarian diet. If interested, please see my profile page.

Age at RNY: 55, Height: 5'4", Consultation Weight: 331 lbs-12/1/2009, RNY Surgery Weight: 281 lbs-3/22/2010, Goal Weight Reached: 141 lbs-6/23/2011, Lowest Weight: 126 lbs-12/11/2011

Current Age: 61, Current Weight: 161 lbs-5/20/2016Total Weight Loss Maintained: 170 lbs  

Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 4/19/13 12:31 pm - OH