Less than a week out and I'm starving...I think

dvolumptious1
on 4/29/14 7:53 am

Is it normal to be hungry after bypass just as recent as Friday? I was starving moreso when I got my band in 2009 on the liquid diet but I though I would have no appetite at all converting to bypass. I wonder if just mental bc when I distract myself, I lose the hunger pretty much...

poet_kelly
on 4/29/14 8:27 am - OH

It's probably  mental.  Drink something and then distract yourself.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Showbiz7757
on 4/29/14 9:10 am

I would say it's not normal. I'm 4 months out and I do remember being hungry some but not much. What helped me was to measure my hunger. I would ask myself if my hunger was at a 1 or a 10, most the time I would say 1-3 and know it was just mental.

Kimberly K.
on 4/29/14 10:39 am
RNY on 03/21/14

I'm 5 weeks out and the closest I've come to hungry is feeling a little shaky, like I know I need to eat. Not really hunger.

Kim K.    

angel91e
on 4/29/14 2:42 pm, edited 4/29/14 2:43 pm
RNY on 01/15/14

I was super hungry for the first three weeks after surgery and my surgeon told me that while it's somewhat uncommon it's completely normal until the nerves they cut during surgery heal for a patient not to be able to feel the full benefits of the restriction your pouch gives.  

Some tips that helped me were to be sure to wait the full 30 minutes before and after eating to have any liquid and to be sure you get in as much protein as possible.   

Its going to get easier so just stick to the plan and be sure to weigh all your food so you don't end up overeating and making yourself sick.

Angel

dvolumptious1
on 4/30/14 3:06 am