prednisone effects for us RNYers? sudden hearing loss treatment

takingcontrolguy
on 5/11/14 5:34 am - San Diego, CA
RNY on 12/10/13 with

I've had a complete sudden loss of hearing in my right ear, been tested and the ENT has prescribed a 14 day prednisone treatment to stop the constant pressure and ringing and hopefully restore my hearing.  I've researched and this is the most common and effective treatment for this problem.  I advised that I had RNY 5 months ago and ENT was not concerned as this is a 2 week treatment, not long term.  Has anyone ever taken steroids and have there been any issues as a result?  Thanks!

poet_kelly
on 5/11/14 6:09 am - OH

Yeah, I've taken short courses of steroids.  The ASMBS recommends avoiding NON-steroidal anti-inflammatories, not steroids.  They are two different things.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Silverbelle69
on 5/11/14 8:28 am - Midlothian, VA
RNY on 06/05/12

I was given what my PCP said was a relatively low dose of prednisone The first pill I took pretty much rendered me useless.  The people working close to me said I was suddenly unresponsive.  I work in a nursing home so I had nurses all over me within seconds.  My vitals were OK but all I could do was put my head down.  They called my husband and he came and picked me up.  I had a hard time getting off the curb and into his truck.  The next day I was fine, and my PCP told me to discontinue the prednisone.     Your mileage may vary. 

H.A.L.A B.
on 5/11/14 9:28 am