Okay, so what is a realistic expectation for weekly weightloss?

TempiB
on 5/12/14 3:08 am - Corsicana, TX
RNY on 03/24/14

At 7 weeks out, what is a realistic expectation for weekly weight loss in your opinion? 

poet_kelly
on 5/12/14 3:18 am - OH

Anywhere from zero to five pounds, probably.  It will almost certainly not be the same every week.  My surgeon said to expect three to five pounds per week in the beginning, but that might be nothing one week, two pounds the next week, six pounds the next week, three pounds the next week, one pound the next week, etc.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

healthyme1963
on 5/12/14 5:23 am
RNY on 03/18/14

I am 8 weeks post-op and have been consistently losing 2.5 - 3 pounds per week since leaving the hospital.  This isn't as much weight loss as some, but I was considered a 'smaller' patient (my starting weight was 276 and I was 252 on the day of surgery), so I expect to lose at a slightly slower rate than some.  I am very happy with this pace.

I think a lot has to do with your starting weight, daily caloric intake and activity/exercise level.  I will start going to the gym and pool this week, so maybe I'll lose a little bit more each week now.

Good luck with your program; I wish you great success! 

Life is short, break the RULES, FORGIVE quickly, KISS slowly, LOVE truly, LAUGH uncontrollably, & NEVER REGRET anything that made you SMILE.  

TempiB
on 5/12/14 7:57 am - Corsicana, TX
RNY on 03/24/14

I was averaging about 7 pounds a wee****il these last three weeks and I have had a 1lb, 1.5lb and 2lb loss respectively.