Excess skin shrinkage

Braceface
on 12/24/14 12:43 pm
RNY on 04/24/14 with

i am nine months out from RNY and I am thrilled with my weight loss. I am down to 18% body fat according to my scale and can see my rib cage and hip bones but I have droopy excess tummy skin that bothers me. So the question is with heavy cross fit type training can I expect much tightening or am going to need plastics to be happy?  I am 46 year old male

poet_kelly
on 12/24/14 2:02 pm - OH

I don't know if you will need plastics to be happy or not, but your skin won't shrink much.  When we are obese, our skin doesn't just stretch, we grow more skin.  The larger our bodies, the more skin we grow.  Once you grow skin, you can't ungrow or shrink it.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

White Dove
on 12/24/14 7:21 pm, edited 12/24/14 7:21 pm - Warren, OH

There is a line in the book, "Weight Loss Surgery for Dummies" that I love.

Weight lost surgery gave me back my health, plastic surgery gave me back my self-esteem

I had a tummy tuck six years ago and still love getting up every morning and seeing my smooth, tight tummy.

Real life begins where your comfort zone ends

chulbert
on 12/24/14 8:47 pm - Rochester, NY
RNY on 01/21/13

There's nothing you can do that will reduce or eliminate loose skin.  It depends on how big you were, how long you were overweight, age, sex, overall health, and luck of the draw.

poet_kelly
on 12/24/14 11:31 pm - OH

Weight lost surgery gave me back my health, plastic surgery gave me back my self-esteem

That may be true for some people.  I certainly did not need to have plastic surgery to get self-esteem.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly