Nausea

Tdalgliesh
on 8/23/16 12:02 am
RNY on 04/19/16

Ok. This is my first time on here and I am trying to find out what anyone knows about this constant nausea I have. The doctors have run quite a few tests and don't have answers for me. 

I have nausea just from drinking plain water, as well as, every single thing I put in my mouth. I literally can't get enough calories in per day or protein. I've been dehydrated all the time. Absolutely everything makes me sick to my stomach.  I'm at the point that I wish I had never had this surgery.

The doc had me on the patches, another pill for nausea and a dissolvable pill. I also was placed on one for acid reflux. I had my surgery in April of 2016. The first month was fine. I wasn't sick at all. Then around a month after surgery, I started getting nauseous...from everything. It is constant and 24/7. No matter what I try, nothing has worked. I'm miserable...I don't miss any of the food I'm not supposed to have...which is very good. But I need to be able to eat something. I hate all meat since this surgery except chicken and ham. I tried drinking the protein shakes again. Can't even swallow it. 

I need someone who has had this problem to help me. I have lost 73 lbs but I hate every minute of the day because I can't seem to eat anything. I wish I had never had this surgery done...

RNY_elizabeth
on 8/23/16 8:17 am - TX
RNY on 10/06/15

I had a good deal of nausea the first six months.  I felt like everything I even thought about eating was suspect. If I put that in my mouth is it going to go 'ok' or be awful.  It was rough.  I felt like I was still hanging out with an Ex lover who cheated on me everyday just looking at them thinking "Do I talk to you or kick you?"  Food was a betrayer. Why had it abandoned me after all those years?

I can say that at around 7 months that started to improve and there slowly were more things that I knew I could eat with only a rare bout of nausea or bathroom issues. It does get better.