Have a Surgery date!

Morethanready
on 7/21/17 8:26 pm
RNY on 09/18/17

Hi guys,

I've only written a few times because I'm new here, and to posting online in general, but I wanted to share my surgery date. I met with the surgeon on Monday and am booked for surgery on September 18th. I'm scheduled for a RNY, but my surgeon made sure to tell me that I can change my mind and opt for the VSG at anytime before then. I change my mind a few times a week about which one is better for me, so hopefully by the end of August I've finished the internal debate and settled on one.

I brought my husband with me to the visit because he had a lot of questions and he wanted to hear answers from the surgeon, not necessarily from me alone I guess. I'm glad that I brought him because he seems to understand that it's really happening now. I've been talking to him sporadically for a few years about WLS but he hasn't taken me seriously it seems because he said a few times in the surgeon's office and again in the car on the way home that this is all a surprise for him, and he hasn't really had time to process and learn about everything.

My surgeon was fairly neutral about which option would be better for me, but he did at one point explain that there's just many more years of proven success with RNY, and he likes to see his patients succeed in life-changing weight loss vs continue to struggle with perhaps other methods that are less well studied or proven. He doesn't do the band or DS, so it's either RNY or VSG for me.