DR TITUS DUNCAN

christy2544
on 11/13/17 10:13 pm

HI NEWBIE HERE WANTING TO HAVE GASTRIC BYPASS HOW LONG DID IT TAKE YOU FROM START TO THE END BEFORE YOU GOT THE SURGERY WHAT STEPS DO I NEED TO START ANY HELP PLEASE

ScaleSkater
on 11/14/17 6:23 am, edited 11/13/17 10:28 pm

Welcome!

You probably need to provide some additional information to get some help. Are you US or Canada? Are you commercial insurance or government? Have you read the requirements of your doctor's program and your insurance coverage? Do you qualify? Probably the first stop is your health system's informational meeting. That is the best place to ask questions to apply to your specific situation. Laws vary by state, etc. That kind of thing. But for me it took me from May to November - info session to surgery. But I had a well documented history of weight loss and gain. I also had significant comorbidities - so the path for me was fairly easy. Also look at the top of your thread you started. There is a search function. This question has been asked and answered many times. You might find a ton of info there very quickly. But again, any steps we'd tell you may not be relevant to your program. Time to get to the info session of Dr. Duncan's program. Every single program is different. Good luck.

HW 510 / SW 424/ GW 175 (stretch goal to get 10 under) / CW 160 (I'm near the charts ideal weight - wonder if I can stay here)

RNY November 2016

PS: L/R arm skin removal; belt panniculectomy - April, 2019

christy2544
on 11/15/17 10:28 am

thank you

peachpie
on 11/14/17 6:51 am - Philadelphia, PA
RNY on 04/28/15

This varies for everyone, especially if you in Canada vs. the US. I'm in the US and was about 6 week weeks from consult to surgery. But that is very atypical- the standard wait in the US is about 6-8 months, give or take.