Upcoming surgery

RNYloser
on 11/21/17 6:58 pm
VSG on 12/06/17

Hello. I am new to this and appreciate any advice. I'm having RNY 12/7/2017. I am very apprehensive and have read and am reading everything I can on do''s and dont's. Any real life advice or tips that you learned that you would like to share? Thank you.

Au_Contraire
on 11/21/17 9:24 pm

Congratulations on your upcoming surgery! It is very natural to be apprehensive. I went back and forth for months prior to my surgery, at times thinking I was going to bail on the whole thing! But by the time my date finally arrived, I found myself deeply at peace with my decision. Fortunately, I had a wonderful, highly experienced, gifted surgeon. Though others experiences differ, I myself was in virtually no pain (other than when the surgery staff first woke me up post-op to ask how bad my pain was, on a scale from 1-10. It was a 9, but only because I thought it could always get worse!). But they gave me miracle pain medicine which completely controlled things, and by that evening I was up, slowly walking up and down the hall, using the bathroom, etc.

The best thing to do is to hydrate. Take lots and lots and lots of tiny sips. And walk. Sugar free popsicles can help with hydration, as can SF jello, broth, tea, etc.

I was off of all pain medicine within a week. Though I wasn't in pain, I was wiped out and took it easy for 2-3 weeks. Even though I work from my home office, I still took a little time off and babied myself for a bit. In the beginning do your best to hit 64 ounces of water, etc. daily and to get in enough protein, at least 60 grams per day. The protein is essential in helping your body to heal. It is not uncommon to not be able to drink as much as you're supposed to. Nevertheless, do your best, because becoming dehydrated can land you back in the hospital.