revision

cancelsbronx
on 9/26/18 7:32 am - Stamford, CT

Hello everyone,

On December of 07 I had my lapband surgery. I did very well for about four years when I encountered slippage. My surgeon gave me the option to have the sleeve and in June of 2011 I had the sleeve done. My starting weight was about 365 when this all started. Recently i have gained 20 pounds with the sleeve. Although I have maintained about 90 pounds off from my original weight I am now 270. MY next option would be the gastric by pass. I am on the calendar for October 10. I am a bit hesitant. I am concerned about leakage etc. Has anyone ever experienced a similar scenario? I have not had any complications with either of my surgeries and I am in overall good health except the 20 pound weight gained. I have been working with a nutritionist for over six months with no improvement.

Thanks,

S

Amy R.
on 9/26/18 10:09 am

Are you having GERD or any other physiological difficulties? Is your sleeve itself not functional?

It seems odd that a surgeon would revise you to an RnY just because you gained some weight. You've got a (presumably) working sleeve and that's technically all you need to fight down the regain. Many of us have had far bigger regains than yours and been successful at losing them without additional surgeries.

Is there anything else you are dealing with that could possibly concern a surgeon enough to revise a functional sleeve to an RnY? The RnY is a great surgery, don't get me wrong. Something just doesn't sit right though, at least from what I see in your post.

Revisions are serious things. Honestly it just seems like there must be some detail you've not shared. Can you tell us more?

cancelsbronx
on 9/27/18 6:14 am - Stamford, CT

I have acid reflex . I have not gone under 250 in 11 years. Im ok in the head . Lol. I have bulging disks RA . i was going to do it a year ago but gave myself time and been seeing a nutritionist for about 7 months.

Thanks

S

Amy R.
on 9/27/18 12:00 pm