Blue Cross Blue Shield of Texas

Shanna M.
on 5/25/08 9:24 am - Amarillo, TX
Anyone having any luck with BCBS of TX paying WLS yet?
Leann K.
on 5/25/08 9:28 am - Lytle, TX
Yes, I have. I have BCBS of Texas TRS Activecare (I am a teacher)   I was denied first because I didn't go to my doctor every month for the supervised diet but once that was complete it took about a month for me to be approved.  overall it was a 2 year ordeal but that was before they changed the supervised diet from 12 months to 6 months.   Are you having any particular difficulties with them or are you just curious? Thanks

Leann 

Jennifer G.
on 5/25/08 3:00 pm - Huntsville, TX

LeAnn,

How much did you end up paying out of pocket (co-pays, deductibles, etc.)? I have TRS ActiveCare also and I am just wondering what to expect. I have pre-op work scheduled for June 23 and surgery on July 1. Just wondering what to expect.

Jennifer 

Shanna M.
on 5/26/08 11:09 am - Amarillo, TX
I had BCBS of TX thru my employer and was told there is a clause denying WLS never had any options.  A flat NO! even with Dr. approval, several co-morbidities, etc.  A year ago we switched to United Healthcare but only kept one year.  Now we are back with BCBS of TX.  Part of the problem is it is a small group employer.  Just wanted to know if they have come to their senses the past year or so.   Shanna
(deactivated member)
on 5/25/08 10:22 am
Lynne R.
on 5/25/08 10:58 am - Houston, TX
It took me TWO YEARS but I finally got them to pay.

Lynne

Sherry C.
on 5/25/08 1:23 pm - Plainview, TX
I had federal BCBS. It paid 100%, no deductible, for my husband and I. No pre diet or anything. Good Luck, Sherry
                                   Highest/Surgery/Current/Goal              
        John   341/331/163/185            Sherry   345/338/201/165
        John 22 lbs below goal                   Sherry 47 lbs  till goal
 JOHN                                                               Sherry 122 inches lost

Sarah448