Invalid MMPI?

weighless
on 10/14/11 9:25 am - OH
VSG on 01/11/12
Any psychiatric professionals out there?  I had an MMPI and the psychologist said the test was "invalid."  What does that mean?
Janie
  54 yr. female 5'7" / HW 283 / Consult W 253 / SW 240.5 / CW 167  
Month 1:  Lost 20 pounds
Month 2:  Lost 11 pounds
Month 3  Lost 18 pounds
Maria P.
on 10/14/11 9:56 am
VSG on 01/09/12
 Not a pro, but maybe you skipped a page or it's a mistake?
5'3"  Age 38

HW: 216
Month 1: 20.6
acbbrown
on 10/14/11 9:57 am - Granada Hills, CA
Im not a psychiatric professional, but I have a degree in psychology and have some exposure to the mmpi through work ( i work in the legal field though)

From my understanding, a result of "invalid" couple mean a number of things so without more, theres no way to know exactly what it's suppose to mean.

Just for example - i believe the test might come back invalid if its evident to the person evaluating the test that the person is trying to make themselves look good, and not being truthful. You might get an invalid result if someone answers two questions inconsistently with each other - ie the person answers "true" to both : I am depressed most of the time" and "I am happy most of the time". These are just some examples that I can remember - but its been a while since I was in college. These are just examples - but scoring the test is much more complex so i wouldn't worry about it.

Did you ask the psychologist what it meant?

www.sexyskinnybitch.wordpress.com - my journey to sexy skinny bitch status

11/16/12 - Got my Body by Sauceda - arms, Bl/BA, LBL, thigh lift. 

HW 420/ SW 335 /CW 200    85 lbs lost pre-op / 135 post op

~~~~Alison~~~~~

dittodotv
on 10/14/11 1:11 pm, edited 10/14/11 1:13 pm