Which protein shake

Augustachick
on 7/23/14 1:50 am - GA

I've gotten myself confused over this whole protein shake thing.  My doctor actually said Whey protein shakes but I ended up with the GNC Lean 25 (orange cream!!).  So, now that i'm out and have to get more.  Is there a huge difference between the "normal" protein shakes and the whey?  The lean 25 has 25 grams of protein and only 17 grams carb.   I like the Lean 25 b/c 1 scoop can be a "snack" and 2 a meal replacement.

Where do ya'll buy your stuff?  I like the powders so I can pack and take with me.   What flavors are good, etc

Nottooskinnyplease
on 7/23/14 2:12 am

I am no expert on this stuff.  My understanding is that whey is a milk based protein supplement and that there are different types of milk based protein supplements and different types or qualities of whey.  As far as I know the other common type of protein is soy protein.  There may be others that I am not aware of.  There are pros and cons of each type of protein and you can find a ton of articles if you google it.  I choose whey protein because my understanding is that soy contains chemicals that mimic estrogen. 

Gwen M.
on 7/23/14 2:43 am
VSG on 03/13/14

17 grams of carbs seems super high for a protein shake. I aim for less than 5. 

VSG with Dr. Salameh - 3/13/2014
Diagnosed with Binge Eating Disorder and started Vyvanse - 7/22/2016
Reconstructive Surgeries with Dr. Michaels - 6/5/2017 (LBL & brachioplasty), 8/14/2017 (UBL & mastopexy), 11/6/2017 (medial leg lift)

Age 42 Height 5'4" HW 319 (1/3/2014) SW 293 (3/13/2014) CW 149 (7/16/2017)
Next Goal 145 - normal BMI | Total Weight Lost 170

TrendWeight | Food Blog (sort of functional) | Journal (down for maintenance)

Stacy_WLS
on 7/23/14 3:51 am

If you like coffee then I highly recommend Chike.  I buy it through Amazon.