GOT A DATE! (And now I'm having 2nd thoughts, lol)

Capegin
on 7/31/14 7:10 am

Hi all!

I GOT A DATE!  I have been crossing my fingers since the beginning that it would be this summer as I'm a teacher, so it would minimize sick time.  With almost every step, things have miraculously fallen into place, and I've been able to fly through and get appointments earlier than expected, etc.  Well, the surgeon's secretary called today to say they had an opening on August 13th, and I took it.  This is what I've been waiting for for months (a lifetime maybe?). 

And now I'm scared.  I know the science behind it.  I know why it's better than my previous attempts (whi*****lude everything out there).  I know why I want to lose the weight and how much easier and healthier my life will be when I do.  Suddenly, though, I have this nagging voice in my head.  It says, "This is the easy way out. This isn't the right choice.  You're rushing into this. You're still not going to keep the weight off.  This is NUTS."  Did any of you go through this?  I know I have a great surgeon.  I have read hundreds of success stories on here.  I have unbelievable support from my family and friends.  Still, though, I can't shake this feeling.  

Anyone else?

-Ginnie

Jaime P.
on 7/31/14 7:38 am
VSG on 07/22/14

I think almost everyone gets these feelings. Just thing though - if you could do it on your own, you would have done it already. At least that's my way of looking at it. And the easy way out? Psshh.. nope. This is my 4th WLS after 3 failed lap bands and I'm only week out and already loving it more that I ever did my band, but I can guarantee it's not easy. I think if you just think about it some more, the doubts will go away. You've done your research and you've tried other ways. You know what's best for you. For me, it's this surgery. I'm just sad I didn't get this done 6 years ago instead of going with the band. Good luck and hope you get excited about the surgery instead! 

Instagram