Don't stop reading OH- You never know when a post will change your entire mindset.

happyteacher
on 9/28/14 11:01 am

I have been kicking around  OH for a few years now. My history began in a dark place where I had given up on losing weight, my finding OH as I started the process of determing which surgery would fit best, my subsequent 8 months post op until I hit goal, my easy maintenance, the beginning of my slide, and a post that changed my entire mindset exactly at the moment I needed to read it most. 

Karik posted this about regain and how hindsight is 20/20. I thought when i would go to open it that I would find a reflection about going back to basics- and idea that I was already profoundly familiar with... but hey, it was Karik and it is always worth your time to read his posts and his perspectives. He outlined his anectodatal stages he noticed during his maintenance that led him to a 20 pound regain and struggle with takng it off. I read this at a time where I had put on a few pounds albeit still under goal weight, but this time it didn't just melt off and I was starting to realize that my poor eating habits had taken root enough that I was at serious risk of substantial regain. But that was not enough to change my mindset for some reason.

His post was though. When he documented the stages I could completley relate as he described my progression almost like he was living in my home and observing me during the last several months. When he wrote about how he would put a few pounds on, but easily take them off.... repeat, repeat, repeat he had me. That was exactly my mindset- don't sweat a few pounds here and there because I could always take them off so easily. But then the regain cycles became closer and closer together, and this last one didn't just melt off.