How long to come back to normal

Aime-kay
on 10/23/14 9:57 pm

hey ppl. :) hope you are all doing great. Your stories are so inspiring. I love how you guys have achieved your goals :) 

I am 26 yrs old with a bmi of 36. Planing for VSG. But I am a medical student with tough schedule and important exams in coming months. Can you please tell me how long does it take after surgery to come back to normal routine and start doing the stuff we used to do before surgery? Like how long will it take me to resume my studies. Will the lack of carbs and glucose affect my brain to concentrate on my studies? I want honest answers please. I hope you guys are going to help me :)

Bufflehead
on 10/23/14 10:09 pm - TN
VSG on 06/19/13

I needed about two weeks to get back to work. For the first week or so I wasn't as mentally sharp as I might have been otherwise, I think due to narcotic painkillers and the after effects of general anesthesia, not lack of glucose or carbs.

alwayz_smilin2587
on 10/23/14 10:17 pm - MO
VSG on 04/16/12

Hi! Congratulations on this journey you are about to take! It really is wonderful. 

It honestly depends on the person. I'd say within about 8-10 days I felt fine and the soreness was pretty much gone for the most part. I was lucky enough to get medical leave from work and actually took 6 weeks off. I did this for the psychological/emotional side of things. I do not believe it's necessary- I was just fortunate to have the option so I did it. During that time I spent a lot of time focusing on my feelings and saw a therapist. I actually loved it. 

However, if you have testing and things coming up, I'd say 2 weeks should be enough time.

jenn1469
on 10/23/14 10:48 pm

I don't work but day after surgery when i was discharged i walked Vegas Strip all week just had to take breaks because i would get tired

Good for you being in med school my daughter is too at university az

Jennifer

Aime-kay
on 10/23/14 11:11 pm, edited 10/23/14 11:11 pm