Fear of not getting approved (blue cross blue shield of Alabama)

Jennifer J.
on 11/6/14 9:42 am - Manassas, VA
with

i am not near to submitti everything into my insurance for approval, but I keep having bad thoughts that I am doing all these pre approval tests and evaluations and what if in the end I don't get approved? I have blue cross blue shield of Alabama ( idk why it's Alabama if I live in Virginia). Anyway, can anyone tell me of their experience with bcbs of Alabama during the approval process. Did any of you guys have thoughts like this?

Tealeyes
on 11/6/14 9:49 am
VSG on 11/12/14

I have Aetna ...but  I shared the same concerns for sure.  Your doctor knows what the Insurance requires to approve your surgery. As Long as you do everythign you have to do ..you should be approved!  

PolliwogStL
on 11/6/14 11:28 am

Hi, Jenny, and congrats for being brave enough to start this journey! I am only 10 days post-op (sleeve), so I'm no expert yet on the surgery. However, I have worked in the medical insurance industry for the past 15 years and I can tell you this: stay involved! Do not trust your doctor's office to do everything for you. Yes. That is what they are there for, but you should know every step to prevent surprise. My suggestion is to get a small notebook and keep it with you. However you want to organize it, list all your contacts (insurance company- including benefits/pre-certification/case manager departments, your doctor, surgeon, psychologist, etc...) and all phone numbers. Record every call you make and receive: date, time, name, who they are with, phone number and summary of info discussed. Keep it with you at ALL times!!!