Trying really hard not to puke.

happyteacher
on 12/14/14 4:45 am

Ugh. I had surgery Friday to take out the tissue expanders that were put in due to a bilateral mastectomy, and had implants put in. I am not a newbie when it comes to surgery with 3 major ones in less than a year. I cannot seem to knock out the nausea this time though. I have (had) the patch, take Zofran, and forget about solid food. I also feel like I have 20 pounds of fluids on me right now, and feel terrible bloated... which is to be expected. If anyone out there has any suggestions I am all ears. I am already doing warm tea and pounding fluids. My chest sore enough that I really want to avoid puking!

Surgeon: Chengelis  Surgery on 12/19/2011  A little less carb eating compared to my weight loss phase loose sleever here!

1Mo: -21  2Mo: -16  3Mo: -12  4MO - 13  5MO: -11 6MO: -10 7MO: -10.3 8MO: -6  Goal in 8 months 4 days!!   6' 2''  EWL 103%  Starting size 28 or 4x (tight) now size 12 or large, shoe size 12 w to 10.5   150+ pounds lost  

Join the Instant Pot Pressure Cooker group for recipes and tips! Click here to join!

(deactivated member)
on 12/14/14 5:35 am

I'm so sorry you're having a hard time this time. NUTS! I was thinking that you should pound the fluids, but you already are, so there goes that suggestion. As long as you stay hydrated, get electrolytes and sodium, not eating for a few days won't kill you.

Congrats on the final stage of your breast cancer surgery! I'm sure it will be nice to have "boobies" once again.

Healing wishes.

lxl_Miz_lxl
on 12/14/14 6:26 am
VSG on 01/11/16

Are you taking pain medication? pain medication without food might make you feel sick.. maybe some flat ginger-ale? peppermint always seems to help me, peppermint mints mostly.  I did a quick search and two sites suggested aromatherapy.

Link 1     Link 2

Hope you feel better soon

weeziebeth
on 12/14/14 6:59 am