Another reason VSG is better than RNY...

Beatriz
on 2/26/15 9:23 am

I'm not a doctor, and I am just stating my opinion, but I keep in touch with a bunch of ladies from the class we had to take. I know it can happen with a VSG, but one of the ladies had a leak. It actually affected her heart and she is still in the hospital.  

It made me think- with the VSG, they can put air in the sleeve and look for bubbles for a leak. With the RNY, they can't access the stomach to use air bubbles to detect a leak- and they also have lot more connections where they have to worry about a leak. We only have that one seam. Anyway, feeling happy to have gotten through my procedure so far complication free (knock on wood!) I love my sleeve!!

Height: 5'4".    VSG 2/23/15

HW: 257--SW: 237--CW: 207  

The Salty Hag
on 2/26/15 9:53 am
RNY on 05/20/13

One surgery is not nesseccarily "better" than another, but I do believe that a specific type may benefit a person better over a different surgery. For instance, VSG was not possible for me because of my GERD. 

RNY has been a great fit for me, and I'm very happy to have had it. 

I woke up in between a memory and a dream...

Tom Petty

Beatriz
on 2/26/15 10:03 am

I agree Audrey, it's a very personal decision for everyone. I posted in the VSG forum so as not to offend anyone. 

I was struggling with deciding between the two and previously posted before the procedure questioning my decision.  The statistics still say the RNY has overall better results. 

I think I just like reaffirming my decision. ;)

csamh
on 2/26/15 11:06 am

They check for leaks intra-operative with the RNY as they do the sleeve.  Since they are done laproscopic the air bubbles are easily seen, most us bakers tube for the leak test.  As with any anastomosis there is always a risk for leaks, with the VSG there is a staple line where the stomach is removed. 

Beatriz
on 2/26/15 11:30 am