Need advice

piscesladee
on 4/18/15 7:21 am

Hi. I am just starting out in this whole process. I have had the surgeon consult, psych consult, and one nutrion consult. I have to see her once a month two more times. I have called and reviewed my insurance requirements. I do meet the criteria for BMI. No problem there. I have also developed HTN and low vit D levels recently and started on medication. I am being monitored by my doctor for this.

I dont really understand one thing in the insurance requirements. They said I need to follow a 3 month multidisclinary team approach prior to surgery. Also I read more on the insurance website. It said in within the previous 12 months prior to approval , there needs to be a 3 month medically managed weight loss program that was completed including weight monitoring, diet, and exercise and does not include weight loss medications. It said weigh****chers would count as a medically supersived program as long as if being monitored by my physican. I currently am a weigh****chers member and recently started attending meetings. My insurance is Cigna. I am not really sure how I go about this 3 month medically supervised program. I looked for programs in my area. All I can really find are programs that include medications and are really expensive. Has anyone had to do this as a requirement with their insurance and if so what did you do? I am thinkng of just continuing with the weigh****chers and seeing my doctor monthly. She said she would help in any way with the documentation. But I am not really sure what we need. Thank you for any advice or suggestions.

Valerie G.
on 4/18/15 7:49 am - Northwest Mountains, GA

Find out exactly what the insurance is expecting for documentation so your doc can do it right, otherwise they could make you start all over again.

Valerie
DS 2005

There is room on this earth for all of God's creatures..
next to the mashed potatoes

Sparky50
on 4/18/15 9:06 am
VSG on 07/21/15

Hi,