Newbie here!!!!

Phat_Gyrl
on 4/19/15 3:30 am

Hello everyone! I'm new to the forum but not the site. Several years ago I had a lap-band. It was a absolutely horrible experience. I had to have emergency surgery to have it removed. I've gained back everything plus a little. I swore off bariatric surgery until hearing about the sleeve. I'm so excited about this surgery!! Does anyone regret their surgery or wish they would have had RNY? I really think my surgeon botched my lapband, but I want to be really careful and choose a good surgery with the lowest complication rate. Just yesterday I met a lady that said she didn't recommend the sleeve, but rather the RNY. My mother is team RNY too. As far as I'm concerned the sleeve seems the best option but I would love to hear your thoughts. 

Dan1962
on 4/19/15 4:10 am - Syracuse, NY
VSG on 09/23/14

My doctor made his recommendations based on how overweight you are.  He told me I was in the range where either VSG or RNY were choices.  If my only option was RNY I'm unsure if I would have done.  I selected VSG because I wanted the least complex surgery and I wanted to try and have a normal life experience after.  I define normal as following the plan and still being able to live comfortable without the side effects and taking lots of supplements due to malabsorption.  I have a couple of friends that did RNY and they struggle with dumping and continue to have issues with their labs.  My surgery has worked out great.  I still like all of the food I did before I just have to stay away from some of it as it isn't in my plan.  I'm incredibly happy with the results.  Good luck with your choice.

Phat_Gyrl
on 4/19/15 5:40 am

Thanks so much for your response. I'm with kaiser and I've been approved for the surgery, but during my initial meeting it was said that the Doctor would ultimately make the final decision on which surgery I get approved for. I'm 360LBs. Really praying for the VSG.

Dan1962
on 4/19/15 8:28 am - Syracuse, NY