Frisco- Eating/Drinking Basics- RE: Pyloric Valve 101

frisco
on 5/26/15 12:00 pm

I just read through some posts on a below thread about eating and drinking......

The posts as a collective reads conflicting and confusing.

Here are some basics to how the VSG works with a functioning pyloric valve. RNYers may not have a similar experience since they do not have a working pyloric valve in play.

Hope this helps, because it may just be the most important thing to know about VSG eating and drinking.

**** Disclaimer: Do what your doctor says.

frisco

frisco
on 3/5/12 3:44 am VSG on 09/30/09  
The Pyloric Valve.....the most not talked about function that will answer a lot of questions.

If you understand the Pyloric Valve function......things will be a lot easier and explain why we need to do certain things.......

First, I’m not a doctor nor have I ever played one on TV.

This is a level one explanation.....there is more to it....but if you understand this....it will make some sense.

This may be old news to some..... But I’ve noticed a lot of people who have had VSG do not have any idea how the Pyloric Valve works.

This is my understanding how the Pyloric Valve works.

The Pyloric Valve function and how it pertains to your VSG.

The function of your Pyloric valve is the single most not talked about important part of understanding how and when you should eat and drink.

The Pyloric Valve is just that....It is a valve that is located at the bottom of your stomach/sleeve. This valve is in between your sleeve and the small intestine. The basic definition of a valve is an apparatus that opens and closes.

When open this valve it is about the diameter of a dime. When closed it’s opening is closed down to the diameter of the head of a ballpoint pen.

Dense proteins and harder to digest foods will cause the Pyloric valve to close to hold the food in your stomach for pre-digestion...... stomach acids breaking down this “Rough” food.