Lessons learned: Two years post-op

Tracy D.
on 5/27/15 12:46 pm - Papillion, NE
VSG on 05/24/13

My two-year surgiversary was May 24th so this is a few days late.  The last two years have brought an incredible amount of change to my life; in other, and more significant ways, nothing has changed.   

Tracy's Life Lessons via VSG: 

1.  Keep adding obesity-fighting tools until you've got everything you need. I'm a walking encyclopedia on nutrition; I have an unofficial PhD in exercise physiology; I can quote chapter and verse out of Overeaters Anonymous 12x12; I have smart doctors helping me; I'm a trained therapist for god's sake(!) and have years of therapy under my belt.  None of it ever kept me thin. Most of it didn't even get me close to being thin.    

Adding VSG gave me a very powerful tool that made all the other ones much more effective. If you are struggling, add some tools to your toolbelt! 

2.  I am a compulsive eater with a food addiction.  Born this way, never to be cured.  Each day I don't stuff my face with sugar or flour is a gift.  I am only given this gift by being in "fit, spiritual condition".  Figure out what that means for you and get there.   

3.  Sugar, flour and diet soda are the devil's playground.  I dabble with the unholy trinity to my detriment much too often. 

4.  Months 1-18 are the honeymoon period.  Months 18-24 are where it gets real, really fast.  I've had 7-10 lbs. of regain in the last 6 months and it ain't from muscle, folks.  And it's no secret why...

5.  ..it really is all about the carbs.  I'm a firm believer that my body is fundamentally broken and does not process high-glycemic carbs like a normal person. Never has. I'm working out harder than ever and not eating a lot more.  But I started eating differently and - boom! - regain.  I know what to do but it's humbling to realize how easily it can happen.