Hi! VSG in a few weeks and need to vent...

Lizzybee85
on 8/2/15 10:31 am

Hello everyone! I'll be having my sleeve and a hiatal hernia repair done in the next four to six weeks. I started this process as a self pay patient in late march and still don't have a for sure surgery date. The surgeon's office told me my surgery will either be on August 31, or September 14. What's making me nervous is that I work full time and I'm also a student -- classes will be starting up again August 25 (AFTER SURGERY DATE!!!). As far as time off goes I'm fine at work but I can't take time off of school. Since finding out my surgery will be scheduled after classes started I decided to change my classes from in campus to online. As I've read in many WLS posts, many people complain of having no energy post surgery... I really hope I'm not biting off more than I can chew. However, the reality is I've spent too much time and money. I really don't want to put this off until the end of the semester and risk having to redo all my pre-ops. I'm still sort of young (30) and I have a bit of hope that I'll recover quickly... really trying to keep a glass half full mentality on this. 

poplargreys
on 8/2/15 10:40 am
VSG on 03/31/15

I would have been comletely fine doing schoolwork from my hospital bed. Seriously. I know that many people have a tough time getting back to normal after surgery, but I was up and functioning (sore and bloated, of course) the morning after I was discharged from the hospital. Have you discussed your timing concerns with your surgeon's office? Mine was willing to work with me on scheduling a date that worked for my surgeon and my schedule.

Lizzybee85
on 8/2/15 10:54 am