Kitchen Gadget Disease Chronicles: Air fryer and an upgraded Instant Pot

happyteacher
on 6/20/16 11:29 am

Ok, for any newbie out there be warned. I have an addiction to kitchen gadgets that is heriditary. I come from generations of gadget lovers. A new favorite for this post, and an update on my last favorite!

Update on Instant Pot: broke down and bought the Smart Instant Pot becuase I just couldn't resist playing with the scripts and trying sous vide. Come to find out, for those of you with the non-smart- you can sous vide some in your duo. If you have not tried a sous vide steak, I strongly encourage you to try! You get a absolutely perfect medium rare  steak every time. I am not good with meat either, and truly delicious. If interested let me know and I can post more about it. Bought the 2nd pot due to my first being tied up so much- especially on yogurt making days. 

My new favorite- an air fryer. Thought at first it might be a stupid purchase given I already have a NuWave. But nope. Use it constantly. Since losing my gall bladder I am not tolerating fat at all, and I bought it to help deal with that. Who knew how easy and useful it is! Yes, you can replicate fried foods nicely without all of the extra calories, but for most here that likely is not an on plan option typically for the weight loss phase. But it is true, cut up a potatoe, quick spray of Pam, and french fries. It does anything breaded crazy good- chicken nuggest, mozzerella sticks, that kind of thing. I make homemade chicken tenders now using a corn meal polenta type breading ( a little easier on the glycemic load) and they turn out great. Frozen chicken breast turns into something yummy with a quick dusiting of seasoning and less than 15 minutes. Clean up is fast. Overall, I love it. 

Anyone out there have a new favorite gadget?

Surgeon: Chengelis  Surgery on 12/19/2011  A little less carb eating compared to my weight loss phase loose sleever here!