pre-surgery advice

melr0727
on 9/26/16 8:05 am

I am new to group.  I am currently on target to have my surgery in Dec 2016. All of my required appointments are schedule and will happen in Oct. I am anxiously awaiting Dec to get here.

What is the best advice you can give someone to best prepare for surgery?

I am looking forward to giving and getting support here!

White Dove
on 9/26/16 8:51 am - Warren, OH

Eliminate all white carbs, flour, sugar, bread, potatoes, noodles, pasta, rice, cookies, candy, cake, and pastries.  Cut out soda and caffeine. 

Get a food scale and weigh all portions and then record everything in My Fitness Pal. 

Exercise daily. 

Go window shopping and imagine yourself buying smaller sizes.  Drink as much water as you can, but at least 64 ounces a day.

Get a fitness tracker and a smart scale and use them daily. 

Real life begins where your comfort zone ends

mmsmom
on 9/26/16 10:08 am - Woburn, MA

Be mentally prepared that the liquid diet is the worst part of this process by far.  Psych yourself up to get through it..

VSG on 04/28/2014

Laura in Texas
on 9/26/16 10:15 am

Weight loss surgery is not magic. You must understand that and engrave it in your brain. You CAN and WILL gain back all of your weight if you are not careful. I am amazed at the number of people who have trouble with that concept.

Laura in Texas

53 years old; 5'7" tall; HW: 339 (BMI=53); GW: 140 CW: 170 (BMI=27)

RNY: 09-17-08 Dr. Garth Davis

brachioplasty: 12-18-09 Dr. Wainwright; lbl/bl: 06-28-11 Dr. LoMonaco

"May your choices reflect your hopes and not your fears."

melr0727
on 9/26/16 10:20 am

Yes! completely agree with this. 

McLassie
on 9/26/16 11:08 am
VSG on 07/25/16

Practice taking small bites and eating your meals slowly. Practice separating food from drink. Eliminate alcohol and everything White Dove said. Take some pictures and measurements now. I forgot and now I wish I had.