VSG doubts over hair loss-advice please!!!!

Sassy_Gypsy
on 1/29/17 9:00 am

I have been thinking of getting VSG.  I've been overweight since I was about 8 or 10 years old.  I just turned 40.  By the time I graduated high school I weighed 240 lbs. I'm 5'7".   The year after high school I took fen-phen.  While I know that drug killed some people... for me it was an absolute miracle drug.  I got down to 185 and then my doc told me he couldn't give it to me anymore bc it was being pulled.  I got down to 170 on my own...just spurred by my success so far and I had started exercising.

I stayed at170-175 for years...about a size 14.  But while I always wanted to get smaller...I was happy there.

I was engaged and broke it off and got up to 200.I couldn't seem to get it off.  Some years later I hired a personal trainer and got down to 170 again...but I was a size 12 because I was more tone.  I went through another bad break up and went back up to 200.

Then I was assaulted and got depressed (not wanting to exist depressed) and ballooned up to 250.    A dr gave me qsymia.  It worked great...I was losing 2 lbs per week.  I got down to 225.  But then I'm pretty sure i had a small seziure and I started losing my hair badly. (I had already experienced some thinning due to hereditary like my mom...but she's 72 and still has hair...we both just started with a way more than normal amount and it started thinking in early thirties...but the medicine made it come out drastically...it was devestating.  My dr confirmed the medicine can do that) I lost probably half of my hair.  It never came back fully.  I struggle with that a lot.  My hair was always my best feature...my identity really.  People told me thst.  My nickname is based on my hair.  My boyfriends always loved my hair best about me it seemed.  Now I dont have even that....at least not how I used to

If I lose even 5 lbs I won't qualify for surgery.  I qualify because I have sleep apnea.