VSG and travel for work

Sukilana
on 2/24/17 5:13 pm
VSG on 01/10/17

Hello,

I am looking for input from people who travel a lot for work in regards to meals and meal planning. I am a consultant and frequently travel for work. My first trip since surgery is next week. I am anxious about what to eat, where to eat. Typically my clients organize lunches and dinners which are mostly foods that are not VSG friendly. 

So anyone with great tips and success stories please share. 

Donna L.
on 2/24/17 8:41 pm, edited 2/24/17 12:42 pm - Chicago, IL
Revision on 02/19/18

I travel between two work sites.  I use a FitMark bag, which I want to say was recommended to me by White Dove.  It is amazing and goes everywhere, and keeps food cold for hours.  

I bring my own food everywhere.  I am honest as to why if asked ("I have a specific medical diet") and I have never had a client complain or be offended.  99% of the time I say "no thank you" and am never questioned.  Even if I forget my stuff there's always a way, usually, to find appropriate food.  Sandwiches?  Just eat the meat/cheese.  Donuts and eggs?  Eat the eggs, skip the donuts.  You can *always* stash protein drinks in a bag!  I use hippie pea protein shakes these days (another bit advice I got from the forums!) and I never have an issue.

I am dairy, gluten, and nightshade free, so if I can find crap to eat, anyone can. ;)  However, rarely, I can't.  At worst I fast.  How did a vet put it?  Hunger is no longer an emergency.  I can be hungry and not care.  I just eat later.

I have called restaurants ahead and asked to bring my own food, telling them I'd be happy to pay a plate fee, and none have ever argued.  None have ever argued.  That was Back in the Day when I was diabetic and low carb, and places really didn't have options.  These days most spreads have options.