What are your best tips to get back on the horse?

Scott S.
on 2/24/18 6:40 am - TX

While I haven't fallen off, I do feel that I am slipping. It's been a bit of a steady roll up.... while I am choosing not to beat myself up over it, I am resolved to get back on track. I am at the 4.5 year mark after surgery and have kept off 100 lbs or so. At my peak, I had 128 lbs off.

What are your best tips to right the ship? First step was coming back to this site after 2 years! Any and all help is welcome.

VSG: 8/8/13 

Jess Says Yes
on 2/24/18 8:22 am
VSG on 10/24/17

I am a newbie, so I can't offer advice, but if you search the forum you will find several posts full of great responses! Good luck!

Jess

To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all. - Oscar Wilde

Pre-op:-32 M1-26 M2-11 M3-13 M4-10 M5-13 M6-8 M7-12 M8-7 M9-7 M10-0 M11-11

Gwen M.
on 2/24/18 9:29 am
VSG on 03/13/14

Welcome back. The first thing you should do is start measuring and tracking everything you put into your mouth using something like MyFitnessPal. From there, work on getting back to your basics. Here are mine, but yours might be slightly different:

1. Prioritize protein and water
2. Deprioritize carbs, especially the refined and processed ones
3. Make the most of healthy fats
4. Eat three meals a day with no snacks
5. Avoid liquid calories (protein shake for breakfast is my exception since I've never liked putting solid food in my stomach first thing in the morning)
a. Don't drink with meals or for 30 minutes after eating
6. Weigh portions and track/log what you consume
7. Eat mindfully and with no distractions aside from real live people
a. Try to eat at a table
b. Eat with utensils
8. Move as much as possible
9. Weigh yourself daily
a. But focus on the trend of your weight, not the day to day fluctuations
10. Be kind to yourself

VSG with Dr. Salameh - 3/13/2014
Diagnosed with Binge Eating Disorder and started Vyvanse - 7/22/2016