Why did you chose to have a sleeve or over other types of weight loss surgeries?

VioletFemme
on 8/30/18 9:19 pm - Greater Toronto Area, Canada

I live in Canada and my surgery will be funded by the government. I don't get a choice. They give you a bypass unless they have a medical reason not to, and the you get the sleeve. For those who chose to get a sleeve, why did you get it over other types of surgeries?

Female 30s Canada
RNY January 4, 2019
I lost 100% of my excess weight.
Currently re-comping body/losing vanity pounds prior to plastics.

Cathy H.
on 8/30/18 11:15 pm
VSG on 10/31/16

I chose the sleeve because my major issue in not being able to keep weight off was portion control. I knew how to do all the other stuff, eat healthy, etc, and had been successful doing it. But each time I dieted, even if it was very low calorie, I planned my meals around how MUCH I could eat for the allotted calories, and was a huge carb addict. When I stopped eating low calorie, I still ate mountains of food, and the weight piled back on.

So for me, I knew that if I could get the sleeve and ensure that I could only eat small portions, the rest was something I knew I could do and I could make the permanent changes necessary to be successful. I had no interest in the malabsorption of RNY, because I had no intention of eating refined carbs after surgery, and I haven't and don't. My new life does not include bread, pasta, rice, and all those things, and I am very happy with my sleeve and the weight loss it has allowed me to accomplish.

It was the perfect surgery for me, and I'm happy I chose it.

Livin' La KETO Loca!!
134 lbs lost since surgery, 195 overall!! Initial goal reached 9/15/17, (10.5 months)!
5'3", SW*: 299 GW: 175 HW 3/2015: 360 PSW* 5/2016: 330 *PSW=Prog Start Wt; SW=Surgery Wt

M1 -31, M2 -10, M3 -15, M4 -16, M5 -8, M6 -6, M7 -11, M8 -8, M9 -8, M10 -4, M10.5 -7 GOAL

Colonel_Panic
on 8/31/18 7:48 am - Raleigh, NC
VSG on 04/08/19