post op vertical sleeve- feeling horrible

Karen K.
on 10/9/18 9:04 am - Weymouth, MA

Hi all, I'm an RNY long term grad but I am posting this for my daughter who is one week post op vertical sleeve. She is feeling miserable. Light headed, totally fatigued, no energy, occasional nausea. Is getting all her fluids in and approximately 40 grams of protein in with her shakes/drinks so she knows she's not dehydrated. Part of her post op care is that she has to inject herself twice a day with a blood thinner so I thought maybe that was to blame but she called her surgeon's office and they said this is just normal body adjustment changes. Really? I don't recall any of this and my surgery was more invasive. She felt better the first few days after the surgery than she does now. SHe is also very emotional and that I understand as I am sure there are hormonal changes going on but the general feeling of illness is what concerns me.

Has anyone else gone through this?

hollykim
on 10/9/18 10:24 am - Nashville, TN
Revision on 03/18/15
On October 9, 2018 at 4:04 PM Pacific Time, Karen K. wrote:

Hi all, I'm an RNY long term grad but I am posting this for my daughter who is one week post op vertical sleeve. She is feeling miserable. Light headed, totally fatigued, no energy, occasional nausea. Is getting all her fluids in and approximately 40 grams of protein in with her shakes/drinks so she knows she's not dehydrated. Part of her post op care is that she has to inject herself twice a day with a blood thinner so I thought maybe that was to blame but she called her surgeon's office and they said this is just normal body adjustment changes. Really? I don't recall any of this and my surgery was more invasive. She felt better the first few days after the surgery than she does now. SHe is also very emotional and that I understand as I am sure there are hormonal changes going on but the general feeling of illness is what concerns me.

Has anyone else gone through this?