Pity party

Jess Says Yes
on 10/15/18 7:50 am
VSG on 10/24/17

I have been greatly struggling with old food habits for the past several days. Each night once the kids are in bed I have gone to the kitchen and eaten as much as I could tolerate. I've gained several pounds in less than a week. Sometimes it feels like I am possessed as though I am watching myself make these self-destructive choices but can't snap myself out of it. I am so disappointed in my actions and also feeling quite sorry for myself, which then makes me even more annoyed as I know how lucky I am in life and I am responsible for my own actions.

I have been working with a new therapist for a few weeks, but I'm starting to think her approach is not a good fit for me. The most frustrating thing is that I am a therapist and I know what I would say to a client, but the whole "physician heal thyself" thing just does not work.

I guess I am posting here for a few reasons. Accountability mainly. Hoping that by speaking out loud the self-destructive actions I'm taking it may help me snap out of it. Also, I know some of you can understand where I'm coming from and that alone is helpful. Finally, advice. Have any of you found yourself in this sort of state. How did you get back on track when your old demons seemed to be in the driver's seat?

Thanks for listening.

Jess

To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all. - Oscar Wilde

Pre-op:-32 M1-26 M2-11 M3-13 M4-10 M5-13 M6-8 M7-12 M8-7 M9-7 M10-0 M11-11

facetedginger
on 10/15/18 8:10 am

I've found being unprepared with MY snacks tend to lead me to eat things I shouldn't. If I have a sugar free pecan candy in the pantry, I'm most likely to get it before bed to snack on than to dig into the other things but they must be forefront in the pantry and my line of sight.

However, I would recommend absolutely finding a new therapist. You know from your training, not every method works for everyone.