What a surprise!

Cheryl T.
on 4/1/04 2:07 am - Cabot`, AR
What a surprise to find an ASL message board! I've been an interpreter for many years and am nationally certified. I am also a CODA (Children of Deaf Adults) and (obviously) a WLS patient. What a cool little board! Cheryl
danabky
on 4/16/04 1:38 pm - NC
OMG a CODA I work for a CODA and I have been interpreting for 13 years. My ex husband is deaf but I learned it way before I met him. I am nationally certified too with a NAD 4. I was Deaf taught and thats the best way! I was very heavily involved with the Deaf culture in Austin, Texas where I learned. Most people think I am a CODA when they find out I am not deaf. *smile* We now have a Deaf nursing student and I mainly interpret for her at my college. We go on clinicals together and I got to interpret a LAP RNY!!! I also got to interpret a Tummy Tuck and Breast Reduction. The COOLEST thing was when I got called out last month to the hospital. Imagine my shock and suprise when my client just had a gastric bypass surgery!! Ok.. I think I broke the Code of Ethics on that one!! I was THRILLED to talk to her about it! I now interpret for her at our support group meetings. I want to get RID certified but lack $$$ right now after paying for plastic surgery. Man this stuff is expensive!!!! We have to have State Licensure here too and these dues are killing me! I am starting to resent RID because they have a monopoly on it right now. Luckily I was grandfathered in and don't have to worry about it for a while. I am salaried at the local Tech College but I am ALWAYS on call here for the hospitals and mental hospital. I also do part time work at UK (University of Kentucky) and other community colleges. I am also trying to get all my CEU's in. Well it was cool meeting ya! Welcome to the board! Hugs, Dana
karaoke Nadine
on 8/13/04 6:11 pm - Wherever I Take My Shoes Off!, CA