how many grams of sugar is acceptable to you?

luvsexytrstno1
on 1/5/08 9:14 pm - Anchorage, AK
I have been told to never go over 15 gms of sugar per serving and that seems really high.  I am also concerned that I am eating too many carbs.  How many carbs is too many?  What fruits are safe and don't make you dump?   I want to start adding some fruit and veggies back to my diet but I am confused about which ones are best.   Thanks!
autismmom
on 1/5/08 9:21 pm - energy, IL
I was told the day of my surgery not to eat over 15 grams of sugar. I also thought it was high. im still new to this but now I dont eat over 3 grams at a time. cause ive dumped on 3 grams which is fine with me. I can eat vegies and fruits. But then again I dont reallty have an issue with any foods now. Ive been very lucky so far. Ive heard many things for the carbs. Ive heard not over 20 or 60 and someone even said 100. I try not to eat over 30 a day. I dont know if its good to do this or not but thats what ive been doing.
M M
on 1/5/08 9:22 pm
I can't remember what my doctors told, but I think it was also 15 grams, at the end of a meal. That *is high.  (I'm a dumper, I know.) Safe fruits, not so much.  I get sick on most fruits, unless I have just a touch in a protein shake.  That, and I hate most fruit textures.  The BEST fruits to eat are BERRIES, they have the lowest carbs and the highest fiber.  The wors****ermelon - high sugar content for no nutritional value.  I don't eat anything else, so I can't really tell you. Best veggies?  Dark, leafy greens, if you can stomach 'em. Google "GI diet"  --- try to eat the veggies + fruit  with the lowest glycemic index.
Amanda K.
on 1/5/08 9:34 pm - Leesburg, VA
For me... I don't go over 10 in a serving for sugar For carbs, I keep it less than 50 a day... Ive been averaging around 30 a day.
 Amanda  

**CrYsTaL** B.
on 1/5/08 9:34 pm - watertown, NY
i was told 10 grams of sugar per serving...............carbs i am not sure
luvsexytrstno1