how long out of work after gastric bypass-laproscopic

carebear72
on 6/12/08 1:15 pm - NY
Just wondering out there how long it took everyone to get back to work?  My coworker is going through chemo for breast cancer and my boss is giving me somewhat of a difficult time about taking time for my "elective" procedure.  I don't do anything strenuous at my job mostly office work.  Just looking for some opinions and also if anyone had a simular situation and got there doctor to say it was a "medically necessary procedure"  as my boss has the descretion to give me the time off or not if it is an elective surgery and not a medical necessity?
(deactivated member)
on 6/12/08 1:24 pm - gloucester county, NJ
If I had an office job 3 weeks would have been fine.  I have a physical job and I went back after 5 weeks...
Cruz4dlord
on 6/12/08 2:10 pm - Gary, IN
I was back in 3 weeks.  I am an accountant.  The doctor just gave me a note for work not to do any heavy lifting.  As I only move paper around and tap a keyboard all day, it was no big deal. 
Angela

"God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble. Psalm 46:1 Be still and know that I am God: Psalm 46:10"

Amber Baay
on 6/12/08 4:32 pm
I am a Medical Assisting Instrctor and I retrned to work exactly 2 weeks after my RNY. I was fine, jst a little tired I think becase of the no caffine thing. I am now at 4 weeks and I am feeling a lot better. Amber

Highest/WLS Day/Crrent/Goal
264/259/209/140 RNY 5/14/08  Total Lost: 55lbs
***I am a good speller! The letter between the Y and the I on my keyboard is not working***

Heidi_R
on 6/12/08 9:09 pm - Chapin, SC