Hypoparathyroidism after gastric bypass

ladavids
on 1/18/09 1:31 pm - Richfield, MN
Hey all! I'm wondering if any of you have had experience with being diagnosed with hypoparathyroidism AFTER gastric bypass surgery? I'm still learning/researching more about this condition and although I haven't been officially diagnosed, I tested out of the normal range (going for additional blood work this week) at a recent doctor visit.

I'm seven (7) and a half years post-op and am currently at 161 lbs. I've gained 11 pounds in five months without really changing any of my exercise/eating habits (which are overall, healthy). I know that weight gain and extreme fatigue are both signs of this condition.

I'd appreciate hearing about others' experiences with this condition.

Leah D.
Minneapolis, MN 
Pre-Op: 268.5
Lowest: 129
Current: 161

foobear
on 1/18/09 1:42 pm - Medford, MA
I take it that your serum calcium levels were low, along with your PTH levels?

/Steve
ladavids
on 1/18/09 1:43 pm - Richfield, MN
Yes, I believe so. I'll find out more from the doc this week. Just looking for an answer to my recent weight gain and fatigue as well.
foobear
on 1/18/09 1:56 pm - Medford, MA
I'm not an expert, but weight gain doesn't strike me as a characteristic sign of hypoparathyroidism.  Low calcium levels can cause problems with muscle signaling, but "fatigue" is too general a term to describe the issues. 

Hope you get this cleared up by your docs!

/Steve
butterfly4me
on 1/18/09 2:25 pm - Claremont, CA
Hi Leah,

I have hypothyroidism which causes weight gain and fatigue, but I am not sure that those symptoms are also part of hypoparathyroidism.  I haven't had the surgery yet, but was diagnosed with hypothyroidism after having my second child, after gaining 30 pounds in one month.  If I were you I would research it and find out more about it.  The thyroid is very complex and when you have issues such as these there are several symptoms that coincide. 

Good luck to you.

Cheryl