Chewing and Spitting

Jackie McGee
on 1/20/10 10:40 am - PA

I really hate seeing people on OH suggesting to others that chewing up and then spitting out your food just for the taste is a good idea. It's not, trust me on this one. I'm speaking from experience here.

I started doing the chewing and spitting thing in elementary school - I'm going to say around 4th or 5th grade, so I was 9 or 10 years old. I did this until I was 13 (8th grade - my parents divorced, so stress x 1,000,000). By the time I was 13, I came to the realization that if I could chew and spit everything out, then actually eating and then puking would work the same way. So at 13 years old, I became bulimic. I never did go back to chewing and spitting because actually eating and swallowing the food was a hell of a lot more enjoyable.

From the age of 13 to 18, when I graduated high school, I was binging and purging every odd day (Monday, Wednesday and Friday) and eating "normally" and puking breakfast and dinner on the "off" days (Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday and Sunday). I started counseling for my ED in 1998 when I went to college for the first time. My counselor had me figure out how many calories I was taking in and then throwing out and we discovered that on (what I would have considered) a "bad" day, I was keeping less than 100 calories in my body. That's not enough for any person to live and finally that scared some sense in to me. I ate normally without the bulimia from age 19 to 23 and that's when I went from 150 lbs to almost 400.

When I was 23, my father committed suicide and my stress levels shot through the roof again. From 23 to 27, I was bulimic - full-blown, actually. I was binging and purging three or more times a day.

And I was still fat (only now it was fluctuating up and down about 40 lbs every few months) and still going to counseling to try to kick the habit.