BEWARE OF GASTRIC BYPASS, IT DOES NOT WORK!!!

Amy Farrah Fowler
on 9/29/10 5:10 am, edited 12/3/10 2:12 am
What study says the RNY " is the MOST successful form of obesity surgery there is with the best combined results for weight loss and a healthy out come", that compared the different surgeries. Please link.

Updated- Of course Jeffrey never found that link because that study doesn't exist, and he hasn't a clue, but here's a link to a study that actually does have this data. Or this one.
WASaBubbleButt
on 12/2/10 7:47 pm - Mexico
On September 28, 2010 at 9:27 AM Pacific Time, Jeffrey E. wrote:
Hey listen. I studied medicine and went to Chicago Medical School. I am more aware than you are of every option out there. RNY is the choice that is best for me and my condition. When you say that "RNY statistically does have a high rate of failure..." you are incorrect. It is the MOST successful form of obesity surgery there is with the best combined results for weight loss and a healthy out come. Of course, all bariatric surgery has risks up to and including death. But in my case the benefits outweight the risk. So unless you have something intelligent and constructive to say, you need not reply.

Jeffrey...

This simply isn't accurate.  If you actually studied medicine then you would know how to read peer reviewed studies and you would realize that RNY has a very high failure rate.  1 in 5 to be exact and let's be clear here, they aren't setting the bar all that high when a success is deemed when you lose a mere 50% of your excess weight.

Bands have the highest failure rate, bypass is 2nd.

I understand you are a newbie and a pre op, I get the emotional factors involved here but posting wrong information is not helpful in the least.

So with all due respect, when YOU have something intelligent and constructive to 'write', feel free.

Previously Midwesterngirl

The band got me to goal, the sleeve will keep me there.

See  my blog for newbies: