20 pounds to lose BEFORE surgery???

Game_Change
on 10/14/12 6:29 am
 You look amazing!!! Congrats!! I'm just starting out had my sleeve almost two weeks ago. You are an inspiration. 
stlfocus
on 10/11/12 3:51 am - IA
I had RNY a year ago or so, and yes I would do it again knowing what I know now. Absolutely without hesitation.

As far as the weight loss goes, my surgeon said the insurance company uses the starting weight to determine whether you are approved, and any weight you lose before surgery only helps surgery and recovery to be somewhat easier.

I only lost 10 lbs during my 6 months pre-diet, but I lost an additional 10 lbs during the last 2 weeks before surgery on a high protein low carb diet.

NurseBonBon
on 10/11/12 4:08 am - El Paso, TX
 Yeah that's good to know. I'll go in next week and get my "official" weight and then lose the 20 pounds from there (hopefully).
I really want this and will do what they ask as I'm sure they have my best intrest in mind. :)
lizpete
on 10/11/12 5:29 am - Marlboro, MA
I would do it again in a heart beat.  Best thing I have ever done for myself.  6 Mo post op 80 lbs lost. Went from a size 22 to a 12 and best of all I now am living life and not just sitting around wathing it pass me by.  

Ashleyxx
on 10/11/12 8:17 am - Detroit, MI
On October 11, 2012 at 10:34 AM Pacific Time, lizpete wrote:
My dr explained it by saying they wanted me to be "committed" and not to splurge on my "final meals".  Nothing about insurance  just wanted to be sure I was committed.
I had to lose 20 pounds too, my doctor said he wanted to make sure I was "serious" about having WLS.

Posted Image    

skinny cat
on 10/11/12 4:30 am
VSG on 01/08/13
Most surgeons want you to lose at least 10% of your body weight to shrink your liver. It makes it easier for the surgeon and less risky for the patient. You have less of a chance of your liver "cracking and bleeding" by being moved if you lose weight.