Bowel Bypass Syndrome

missnanajean
on 12/30/13 12:56 am - Friendswood, TX

Is anyone else suffering from this? Background: I had revision from Lapband to RNY 4 yrs ago . I have been good about labs and vitamins all levels good. I'm a nurse and 6 mo.s ago hospital changed gloves and my hands broke out used several steroid creams. My  fingers and hands swell the skin thickens and sloughs off in sheets. Fingernails look like I have a fungus yellow thick dry. Have been  to a dermatologist who just gives me more creams and says it's hand and nail eczema. I went for my 4 yr. checkup and was telling the PA my problem and.she said I may have Bowel Bypass Syndrome she had seen it once before. Happens after bowel bypass surgery 2-6 yrs post op to 20%  of the patients. Bacteria develops in blind pouch that sends antigens to skin and joints causing inflammatory response. Antibiotics can't get in to kill it.. You can have mailase and other symptoms. We have tried the treatment they suggested steroids and certain antibiotics. Right now I am on Prednisone 1 mg daily tapered from 3 mg but if I miss a day the cracking and skin gets worse. We have done all kinds of immunity testing all pretty normal. Articles say definitive test is a biopsy and only cure is reversal to remove blind pouch. I've lost 100 lbs and have been happy but this skin thing is affecting my life and career. Any information and experience and suggestions are appreciated. I have an appt with a GI Dr. in Jan.

Miss  Jean   
Kate -True Brit
on 12/30/13 1:56 am - UK

Neither experience nor suggestions! Just wanted to say - sounds horrid! Hope someone can shed some light. If the occurrence  is as high as 20%, there should be some people on here! But that does sound very high.

my best wishes to you.

Highest 290, Banded - 248   Lowest 139 (too thin!). Comfort zone 155-165.

Happily banded since May 2006.  Regain of 28lbs 2013-14.  ALL GONE!

But some has returned! Up to 175, argh! Off we go again,

Kate -True Brit