Pannus Concerns

astueckroth
on 12/31/13 6:57 am - Harrisburg, PA
VSG on 06/27/14

Greetings Everyone,

I have been reading these forums for quite a while and I have began the process for my WLS and one question I cannot find a solid answer for and no one is seemingly willing to help me find resources for is the post-op pannus. I have elected to have my surgery early in life as I am relatively healthy and without any comorbidities. My BMI is 42 so according to my insurance I only barely qualify.

My concern with this pannus is no one can tell me based on my size/shape what I can expect a year or two down the road. While my insurance covers the WLS (VSG specifcally) they will not cover the panniculectomy except in very extenuating cir****tances and real plastic surgery is out of the question on every level due to cost. I'm an EMT and make just enough to get by.

Is there anyone that can give me some guidance or insight to how a 25 year old male is likely to react to WLS and what can be expected?

Thank you,

Andrew S. 

Valerie G.
on 12/31/13 7:25 am - Northwest Mountains, GA

Now of course, everyone is different, and the loose skin is not something that can be predicted or prevented.  With a lower BMI and your youth, odds are on your side.  My BMI was 46, and I had my DS at 35, and my stomach is ugly, but easily concealable.  It could be worse.  Now I know a man who was of similar size and today has the sexiest rock-hard abs as a post op with absolutely no plastic surgery whatsoever.  He was only MO for less than 2 years, though, so that's a huge difference, too.

Valerie
DS 2005

There is room on this earth for all of God's creatures..
next to the mashed potatoes

astueckroth
on 12/31/13 9:01 am - Harrisburg, PA
VSG on 06/27/14