New to OH

jcummings1981
on 1/12/14 8:45 am

Hello All,

I'm relatively new to Obesity Help. I have been overweight my entire life and I am not a stranger to weight loss programs but this is the first time I am going for weight loss surgery. I am currently in my second month of Nutrition classes and have 4 more months to go before I am scheduled for surgery. I have never used a support group forum before and I am hoping to gain some insight into the best way to take advantage of the endless amount of information that is available here. Any suggestions or tips would be welcome! Even if you just drop a line to say Hello It would be greatly appreciated!

PetHairMagnet
on 1/12/14 9:01 am
RNY on 05/13/13

My best advice would be to spend a time in the forum of the procedure you've chosen. Learning what an RNY person has to say is not helpful if you are a sleeve or DS person and vice versa. Check out the exercise forum to get an understanding of the workouts people are doing and the approach they are taking and visit your state or region board to see if it is is active. Mine is not...but some are REALLY active!

Good luck to you!

HW333--SW 289--GW of 160 5' 11" woman.  I only know the way I know & when you ask for input/advice, you'll get the way I've been successful through my surgeon & nutritionist. Please consult your surgeon & nutritionist for how to do it their way.  Biggest regret? Not doing this 10 years ago! Every day is better than the day before...and it was a pretty great day!

jcummings1981
on 1/12/14 10:38 am

Thank you for the response. This makes sense since i don't even know what an RNY is =). I'm hoping to get the gastric sleeve i've spoke with my doctor and it seems to be the best fit for my life style. Are you pre-op or post? Either way best of luck to you!

AnneGG
on 1/12/14 9:23 am

Hi!

What kind of surgery are you going for?