Complications and false starts?

DaleK53
on 1/11/14 9:29 am

I was scheduled for bariatric sleeve surgery in November. I have 2 hernias that the Dr. was going to repair also.

The first hernia was a hiatial hernia and was larger than was first thought. During the surgery and artery tore and

the Dr. had a difficult time getting the bleeding under control and it was decided (very wisely) to not continue with

the sleeve. I was in the ICU for 6 days. My husband and grandson (who lives with us) do not want me to have any

further surgery. I have been prepping myself for this for nearly 2 years. I have been in therapy for just over a year

and I researched Dr.'s carefully. Has anyone else ran into this situation? I am torn! What did you do? I am really

leaning toward the surgery. Thank you!

TurnThePage
on 1/12/14 1:42 am

Understandably, your husband and grandson are understandably worried about losing you, so it is your task to help them work through their worries with good information and supportable reassurances.

It would be very helpful if you and your husband would have a profound discussion with your doctor about the risks you face if you DON"T have WLS versus the risks of surgery. People with morbid obesity face so many serious health problems which worsen over time and are often irreversible.  For example, your risk of heart disease, which kills more women than all types of cancer combined, is considerably higher due to your obesity.  In this light, WLS might be considered just a tool for minimizing your risk of heart disease; wouldn't your family want you to take good care of your heart?