Buyers Remorse Re: WLS You Chose?

(deactivated member)
on 1/13/14 4:12 am

I am a newbie, wrestling with the oh so famous "VSG or Bypass" question.  I've done my research and I feel like I am close to making a decision.  I have spoken with 2 surgeons who led a support group I just went to.  One of the surgeons (the one who I chose to go with originally), told me that RNY is the "Cadillac" of WLS and that you can't go wrong.  Honestly in that moment, he did sound like a used car salesman - he's no longer my surgeon based on that comment alone.  The other surgeon, after hearing a little bit about me, said that he thought that I could go with either one and it would do very well for me based on what little he had just heard.  Obviously it would take more thought and personal consults with my surgeon, but I basically left thinking OK, I this decision is even more difficult now!  That said, I'm reaching out to hear anything you would be able to share if you are in a position post op where you think you may have not chosen the right surgery for yourself.  Do you wish you would have gotten VSG instead of RNY, or vice versa? 

TurnThePage
on 1/13/14 4:56 am

RNY is widely considered to be the gold standard or Cadillac of WLS because it has statistically provided the best results and has been performed longer than any of the other surgeries (since the 1970s). As a consequence of its relatively long term history, there is a larger body of knowledge of the results, complications, effects of RNY as compared to the other surgeries.  RNY is an effective tool for many, many people but choosing the right surgery for you necessitates a thoughtful evaluation of your medical history and condition, your behaviors and attitudes and the professional advice of a qualified and experienced surgeon.